Robin M. Lawson, Senior Associate Dean for Academic Programs

Senior Associate Dean for Academic Programs

Dr. Robin Lawson is the senior associate dean for academic programs at the Capstone College of Nursing. Dr. Lawson began her career in academia in 2001 when she joined the University of South Alabama College of Nursing as an assistant professor. She rose to the rank of professor and served as associate dean for clinical affairs while there. Dr. Lawson received her BSN degree in 1993, her MSN degree in 1998, and her DNP degree in 2007 from the University of South Alabama. She is an expert in the design, implementation, and evaluation of nursing curricula. She has been recognized for her excellence in teaching and developing successful nursing education programs from within and beyond the college arena.

As a successful scholar, Dr. Lawson’s interests include advanced nursing education and improving cardiovascular disease risk factors in overweight and obese, low-income women. She has received funding from extramural and intramural sources and has disseminated her work in various professional nursing journals. She has also presented her scholarly work at local, regional, state, national, and international conferences.

Dr. Lawson is dual certified as an adult and acute care nurse practitioner. She has maintained a successful clinical practice as a nurse practitioner since 2003 and has served as a preceptor to numerous nurse practitioner and medical students. Nursing and other professional organizations have recognized Dr. Lawson for her service, leadership, and practice activities. She received the American Academy of Nurse Practitioner State Award for Excellence in NP Clinical Practice for Alabama in 2009 and the Nurse Practitioner Alliance of Alabama Outstanding Nurse Practitioner award in 2013. Dr. Lawson is currently the President of the Nurse Practitioner Alliance of Alabama and serves on the Alabama Board of Nursing CRNP Advanced Practice Advisory Council. In 2018, Dr. Lawson was inducted as a Fellow of the American Association of Nurse Practitioners for her outstanding contributions to education and clinical practice.