A university that offers distance/online education must comply with the laws and regulations of its home state as well as those of any host state where educational experiences are offered. While state higher education requirements and boards of nursing rules and regulations vary greatly between states, the University of Alabama is pursuing state authorization and boards of nursing approvals in most states. In many cases, these processes can be very lengthy.

Currently, the Capstone College of Nursing (CCN) offers distance/online education for students pursuing degrees in the following programs: RN to BSN, MSN, DNP, and a Joint Nursing Science PhD in collaboration with the University of Alabama in Huntsville.

Applicants must reside and be licensed in one of the states listed below. Students who are admitted must complete clinical experiences only in the approved state(s) in which they are licensed. Students are required to notify the CCN of any change of residence.

Map Legend

States in red may enroll in RN to BSN, MSN (Nurse Executive & Nurse Educator), DNP and Joint Nursing Science PhD

States in green may enroll in RN to BSN, MSN (Nurse Executive, Nurse Educator and Nurse Practitioner), DNP and Joint Nursing Science PhD

States in gray are not available

Graduate Program State Authorization Map

States approved for Nurse Practitioner Programs appear in green in the map and list below:

  • Alabama
  • Alaska
  • Arizona
  • Arkansas
  • California
  • Connecticut
  • Delaware
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Hawaii
  • Idaho
  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Maine
  • Maryland
  • Massachusetts
  • Michigan
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • Montana
  • Nebraska
  • Nevada
  • New Hampshire
  • New Jersey
  • New Mexico
  • New York (RN-BSN, MSN-Nurse Executive only)
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • Oregon
  • Pennsylvania
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Vermont
  • Virginia
  • Washington D.C.
  • West Virginia
  • Wisconsin