Faculty and Staff Accolades, 2023


Dr. Mudasir Andrabi became a Scholar in the Forge AHEAD Center Scholars Program, 2023-2024.

Dr. Mudasir Andrabi received a Travel Award, RCMAR National Annual Meeting-2023, University of California Los Angeles.

Dr. Susan Appel received the Nurse Practitioners Alliance of Alabama Living Legend Award at NPAA’s 17th Annual Conference in Montgomery, Ala.

Abigail Bradley received an Outstanding Delegate Award from UA’s Graduate Student Association.

Dr. Heather Cole was certified as a Certified Healthcare Simulation Educator (CHSE).

Ashley Green, Dr. Teresa Welch, Katara Wilson and Kimberly Wilson were recognized for Excellence in Academic Advising by UA’s Office of Academic Affairs.

Rosemary Kirby was recognized as a 2023 recipient of The Rickey Yanaura Crimson Spirit Award.

Dr. Amy Lee was appointed by ASNA to the Women’s Health Steering Committee, Alabama Department of Health.

Dr. Amy Lee was appointed by Nurse Practitioners in Women’s Heath to the Nominations and Governance Committee.

Dr. JoAnn Oliver is a member of a team awarded the American Association for Cancer Research’s Team Science Award.

Dr. JoAnn Oliver was featured in Tide Trailblazers: Meet eight black faculty and staff members who are leaving their mark on campus. Nineteen Fifty-Six Magazine, 52-53. Office of Student Media at The University of Alabama (Fall 2023).

Dr. Todd Smith is the 2024-2025 Treasurer, Board Member, and Chair of the Finance Committee for The Association for Leadership Science in Nursing.

Dr. Aylin Akca Sumengen was accepted into the 2024 Center for Clinical and Translational Science Training Program.

Dr. Haley Townsend was awarded the Excellence in Community Engaged Scholarship Award on April 20, 2023.

Dr. Felecia Wood was an invited reviewer for National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine.

Leadership Roles/Appointments

Dr. Kristi Acker was appointed as a State Delegate for the NCSBN 2023 Annual Meeting Delegate Assembly August 16-18, 2023 in Chicago, IL.

Dr. Kristi Acker was appointed as Chairperson of the State Quality of Life and Palliative Care Advisory Council.

Dr. Kristi Acker was appointed to the APRN Advisory Council.

Dr. T. Robin Bartlett was inducted as a Fellow in the American Academy of Nursing (FAAN).

Dr. T. Robin Bartlett was on the team who received the 2023 Shirley A. Smoyak Article of the Year Award for the Journal of Psychosocial Nursing and Mental Health Services.

Dr. Wanda Burton was selected a Member of the Cultures and Societies, General Education Taskforce Committee, University of Alabama.

Dr. Wanda Burton was selected as CCN Representative for the SEC Nursing Diversity, Equity, & Inclusion (DEI) Committee.

Dr. Wanda Burton participated in the AACN Diversity Leadership Institute.

Dr. Shameka Cody is a fellow in the 2023 Academy for Diverse Emerging Leader from Vanderbilt University School of Nursing and Vanderbilt University Medical Center.

Dr. Shameka Cody received her ANCC Certification as a Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner.

Dr. Gwendolyn Hooper received the Catherine-Ann Lawrence Literary Excellence Award Editorial Board of Urologic Nursing for relevance to practice of urologic nursing, academic merit, and research rigor.

Dr. Kim Parker was elected to UA Faculty Senate as an alternate.

Dr. Debra Pettit Bruns was appointed to the Alabama Maternal Mortality Review Committee of ADPH.

Vickie Samuel serves as chair for the Graduate Nursing Admission Professional Committee which is an American Association of Colleges of Nursing leadership network.

Dr. Susan Welch received an Honorable mention from the Editorial Board of the Nursing Education Perspectives for her November 2022 article “The lived experiences of DACA recipients who are U.S. nursing program graduates and their pathway to professional licensure: A phenomenological study.”

Dr. Susan Welch was elected to UA Faculty Senate.

Departmental Awards

Dr. Shameka Cody received CCN’s Outstanding Scholarship Award, Tenured.

Kacie Duncan received the CCN Prevost Positive Impact Award for Faculty.

Courtney Greene received the CCN Prevost Positive Impact Award for Staff.

Dr. Jill Hobbs received the CCN Board of Visitors Rising Star Teaching Award.

Dr. Abby Horton received the CCN Board of Visitors Outstanding Commitment to Teaching Award.

Rosemary Kirby received CCN’s Academic Citizenship Award.

Dr. Amy Lee received CCN’s Outstanding Scholarship Award, Non-Tenured.

Blossom Rogers received the Ernestine Tucker Opening Doors Inclusion and Engagement Award.

Charles Tunnell received the CCN Recruitment Ambassador Award.

Kimberly Wilson received CCN’s Outstanding Faculty Practice Award.